History of The Kilmore International School

The Kilmore International School is modelled on international schools overseas. It was established in 1990 to provide a true and exceptional international education for students, whether local or from abroad.

The buildings of the school were originally built in 1887 by the Marist Brothers of the Catholic Church and became Assumption College.

The buildings and grounds were purchased by the current owners in the 1980s, then the new owners completely renovated and modernised the existing buildings. New classrooms including a library, science wing, drama and music studios, art rooms, computer laboratories, general classrooms along with staffrooms were added over the next 20 years, as well as a modern dormitory for girls. In 2011, a state-of-the-art Language Learning Centre was opened. The school grounds now contain two soccer fields, basketball courts, cricket facilities and tennis courts.

From 1990 through to 2009, the school offered secondary education only. Due to increased demand for high quality education in the local area, students in Years 5 and 6 were admitted in 2010 and Years 3 and 4 in 2015.

Since opening in 1990 with two international students, the school has grown from strength to strength. Alumni are employed by leading corporations around the globe. A vibrant community of graduates remain close friends with staff and fellow students. Even though the alumni form a diaspora in many nations, they are linked by the experience of completing their IB Diploma together at The Kilmore International School. Its ethos of dedicated, small classes continues as student numbers have grown to more than 400.

In 2021, the school celebrated its 31st anniversary as one of the most successful IB world schools in the southern hemisphere and the success of its graduates, both locally and globally, makes everyone at the school all enormously proud.


The Kilmore International School (TKIS) was established in 1989 as an independent, non–denominational and co-educational boarding and day school for […]

  • 03 5782 2211
©2022 UMCO. All rights reserved